Abiding by the car seat laws is the most important part of keeping children safe while on the road. Parents cannot always attend to their children while driving, so it is important to secure children in the proper car seats before beginning a trip. Be sure to have the proper car seat for your child and abide by the California state law. Keep in mind the following tips for child safety in a vehicle.
Purchase the proper car seat.
Make sure that your child has the proper car seat for his or her age and weight. There are various different types of seats that will support your child properly. Installing a car seat the right way ensures maximum safety for your child. Be wary of the installation process and make sure that the seat is sturdy and is effectively installed to support the child properly. Child safety begins with the proper foundation of a high quality car seat that supports and protects children.
Change the car seat at the right time.
Be sure to change your car seat at the proper time to ensure that your child is supported. The right fit for a car seat is extremely important and can protect the child in the event of an accident. Make sure the car seat is rear-facing until the child is two years old. This will help to protect the child’s head, neck and spine in the event of an accident.
Buckle up, it’s the law.
Buckle in your child using the safety seat belts on the car seats. Be sure that this is completed before beginning a trip. Take time to buckle up properly to protect your child. Abide by the California state law to help ensure maximum safety in your vehicle.
The California law states:
- Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)
- Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
- Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9″ in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
- Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California’s Mandatory Seat Belt law.
If You Have Been Injured…
If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact a personal injury lawyer experienced in representing motor vehicle accident victims to preserve your right to recovery. Our founding attorney, Scott J. Corwin, has recovered $125+ million and has 25+ years of experience in representing accident victims injured in all forms of motor vehicle accidents, including motorcycle and bicycle accidents, in the Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Riverside, Orange, San Diego, Ventura and Santa Barbara counties and throughout the state of California.